New Girl

I moved my derby self, in order to be closer to home. My new league is fabulous – sort of like the sorority you always wished for, one where every girl was respected, and where you really can just be yourself. They’re organized, motivated, and just adorable. I came in during their first major tryout recruitment, which was so successful that it looks to have doubled the league’s size, to over 50 skaters!!

First league practice was about a week ago, and I was relieved to find that I wasn’t an outlier on skills. And that practices were productive and well-run! Cheers to the training committee, they’re really on the ball.

So the girls are welcoming and friendly, the league is well-run, and I think I’ll keep up just fine. And yet, I’m the new girl amongst more than 20 new girls, and I don’t shine in that type of arrangement. I’ll make new friends slowly, one at a time, and that’s ok. In the meantime, I have a lot of skating to do.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

