Roller Derby 101

I’ll probably never post three times in one week ever again. But we’re coming up on our first home bout, our first intra-league (home teams) bout, and MY FIRST BOUT AS A PLAYER, EVER. I don’t say that very often, I really would rather not think about it. There are plenty of fires to put out right now, nerves to calm, people to coach. I don’t know how it happened, but somehow I’ve been elected Captain of one of the home teams, I’ve been put on the Allstar/travel team, and then elected Captain of that team as well — thankfully with the same awesome co-captain for both.  But still, there’s work to do; my fucking nerves can wait.

One little fire this week: finding a good diagram to use in our program, that explains derby to all these new fans!! There are some great diagrams out there, but none can be legally used without securing permission, and we haven’t been able to reach the copyright holders in time. So… here goes my attempt at a Roller Derby 101 guide. I’ve slapped a Creative Commons license on it (Attribution-ShareAlike), so that other derby leagues or bloggers can use it if they want.

That means that you are free to SHARE (copy, distribute, and transmit this diagram), and to REMIX (adapt) this diagram, provided that you ATTRIBUTE it to Snarker Posey, McLean County Missfits, and that if you alter, transform, or build upon this diagram, you may distribute it only under the same or similar license to this one.  In other words, you can’t adapt it and then keep other people from using it. If you’d like to adapt it, email me and I’ll happily send you the raw editable .png file. Read more about the Attribution-ShareAlike license here.

Creative Commons License
Roller Derby 101 by Snarker Posey, McLean County MissFits is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

  1. Hi,
    I’m wondering if you have an updated diagram to reflect the one-whistle starts? I’m looking for something for our league’s programs. Great blog!

      • Stephanie
      • June 16th, 2013

      I need to do that! I meant to, and then noticed that the art folks for my league had updated it for the program. I’ll get a new version up on the blog soon.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

